Project Proposal

Section 1 – rationale 

Coming into this course, I knew little about film making. Since then I have developed my understanding of what goes into a film, whether it’s a full feature film or a short film. I have gained understanding of camera work, editing and how to layout a scene. I have also found a real passion when it comes to cinematography. This has influenced my project proposal as I want to find out more about it and develop my skills.


 

Section 2 – project concept

My aim for this project is to create a short film that reflects the same style as a Wes Anderson film, specifically the cinematography of Robert Yeoman. I will research Robert Yeomen,s style of cinematography in Wes Anderson films by watching and analysing scenes. This will help me develop a better end film. I anticipate producing a short film similar to the Style of Wes Anderson films. I donT think I will achieve a polished replica as a lot of money and time goes into making them. I will use primary and secondary resources. For secondary I will watch his films, read already existing essays, and watch other people’s films that replicate Wes Anderson films. For primary, I will do my own research by making questionnaires,


 

Section 3 – Evaluation 

I will document my progress throughout the process: logging changes; difficulties; ideas; and decision making. I will do this by making blog posts and keeping it updated overtime there is a change or development.


 

Section 4 – project Action Plan and Timetable

As a group, we made a rough time frame in which we need to work by.

12751917_960842387335567_1695555125_o
After this, I then made a schedule specific for me and what I need to do over the next three weeks.

It is important to make a schedule because it helps you keep organized and all your deadlines of time. For me, it’s important because I think I can get frustrated and lose focus. To have a schedule means I know what point I’m at and what I need to do. Every week I’ll make a more detailed plan of what I need to do, making sure I get everything done I need to do.


 

Section 5 – proposed research sources and bibliography

For research I will use primary and secondary research.

Primary:

  • Questionnaires – I will make questionnaires to research. This is helpful because you can

Secondary:

  • Films – For research, I can watch Wes Anderson films analyze the films. I can take screen shots and clips from the films. Then I can write about them and break them down. For example, how they are one; how to re create them; colours; camera work.
  • Books – I can read books on cinematography or lighting. I can learn tips on how to light, set out and colour scenes.
This entry was posted in Y1 Film 9 - Wes Anderson. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project Proposal

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    I realise this isn’t finished yet Izzy, but in particular consider your Project Concept: are you interested in the cinematography, or the use of composition? Because the first is Yeomans, and the second is Anderson. You need to identify something more specific to consider in this project. Colour and composition in the films of Wes Anderson is different to colour and lighting in the cinematography of RObert Yeomans. Your call which to develop! I would say, too, that I’m definitely not expecting a finished film: if cinematography is your focus, then a few consistent shots/lighting set-ups presented as a film sequence is perfect. Don’t let a story, and all that requires (script, storyboard, casting, props etc.) send you off-topic. This project is about depth in your particular study. Good work so far!

    Like

Leave a Reply

