Easter Work Skill

For L3 Yr1:

Over the first year, we complete a number of additional qualifications designed to build your skills and abilities. One of these courses is called Work Skills, and it gives you the space to explore target-setting and self-evaluation, both of which are crucial for a filmmaker, and also CV-building, which is important for all employment.

To begin with, select and copy everything below this line, and paste it into your own blog under a post titled ‘Work Skills’. You will then fill in each section. 


 

Task 1 – Learning Plan

  • Copy all your SMART targets from ProMonitor into your blog. Combine, update and refine them as necessary.

This shows you can take responsibility for your own learning. (9/4.5)

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 10.40.50 AM

 


 

 

Task 2 – SWOT

  • Create a SWOT analysis which describes at least two of your strengths and at least two of your weaknesses as a filmmaker and at least two of your strengths and at least two of your weaknesses as a potential employee.
  • Why is it important to develop your strengths? Give two reasons and explain.
  • Why is it important to work on or find ways round your weaknesses? Give two reasons and explain.

This shows you can evaluate your own abilities and opportunities. (9/2.1, 2.2, 2.3)

 

Strengths: One of my strengths as an employee is my work ethic. I think I am really focused and I’ll do my best to keep on task. Another one of my strengths as an employee is that I always try my best to improve myself and develop my weaknesses and strengths.

One of my strengths in filmmaking is determination. I am very determined to be successful and do well in the business and at college. A second strength of mine when it comes to filmmaking is creativity. I think I’m very creative when it comes to coming up with ideas and the best ways to create a good shot.

Weakness: One of my weaknesses as a filmmaker is cracking under pressure. I can get stressed very easily and then I wont work as much as I know I can. This can effect others because I can bring the team down by not putting 100% in. Another one of my weakness is that sometimes I wont put all my ideas across in a group because I can get nervous or anxious. This stops me from putting a creative input into the group and stopping my ideas being put into the project.

One of my weaknesses as a employee is I can get nervous talking to new people. This can sometimes give off the wrong impression when meeting someone in the business. Another one of my weaknesses as an employee is that I can sometimes be too much of a perfectionist. This can sometimes mean that I will spend too much time working on small details rather then looking at the bigger picture.

 

Its important to develop your strengths because it means you can become more advanced at what you are good at. For example, one of my strengths is creativity. If I developed this strength by working on getting my ideas across, it means I can become a key role in creating ideas for the assigned task. Another reason why it’s important to develop your strengths is so you can make sure that you don’t limit your abilities and development.

It’s important to work out ways to get around your weakness because your weaknesses can effect your whole team and your overall final project. Another reason is that weaknesses can sometimes hold you back from reaching your full potential. Embracing them means you can make progress.

 

 

 

 


 

Task 3 – Mindmaps/lists

  • Create a mind-map or list of all the skills that you think you will require to be a successful filmmaker. Skills are things you can learn and do such as test a new camera system, learn a new editing technique, refine your scriptwriting or lighting skills, etc..
  • Why are these skills important for your career/learning? What would happen if you did not have them)? Give a minimum of two reasons.
  • Then create a mind-map or list of all the qualities that you think you will require to be a successful performer. Qualities are things like being motivated, reliable, non-judgmental, inclusive, etc..
  • Why are these qualities important for your career/learning? Give a minimum of two reasons.
  • Where can you find information about the sorts of skills and qualities that will be useful in terms of your learning and progression to employment or higher education? Where can you find information about UCAS? Where can you find information about employment? Who can help you with this?

(9/3.1, 3.2, 4.1)

 

SKILLS:

  • Lighting- Lighting is a big part of film making. It important that you light whatever you’re making well.
  • Sound – Sound is another big component of film making. Its said that an audience can forgive back image but cant forgive bad audio.
  • Know the camera – It’s important that a filmmaker knows how to use different cameras and there functions. Also what lenses to use and when.
  • Editing – Editing is important because the shots might be good but if the edit is bad it will make the whole film bad. You need to be able to know the right time to cut, order of clips and what music or sound to use.
  • Pre production – This is one of the most important. If the pre production is lacking depth the whole film will be bad. In pre production it is important to have storyboards, shot lists, research and script writing.

 

These skills are important for my career and learning because they will help you get a better job as I would have a wider range of skills. If I didn’t have a range of skills, I might not get employed because I wouldn’t know how there equipment worked or have a lot of experience. Secondly, skills such as learning a new editing technique is important because it means you will learn new things which gives you more experience.

 

QUALITIES:

  • Motivated – being motivated is an important quality because without it you will procrastinate.
  • Reliable – Its good to be reliable because people will trust you more to do jobs and will know that will you give the work in on time.
  • Organised – Keeping on top of work is important because employers look from people who hand in work on time. Also, it’s important to log rushes and keep folders because you know where all your work is.
  • Team work – in every work environment you have to work as a team.
  • Non judgmental – everyday you meet different types of people, these can be people of different ethnicity,  social background, gender, sexuality. Its important, especially in a place of work, not to discriminate or be prejudice towards different types of people.

Skills such as team work and organisation is important for my career and learning. This is because in every job you need to be able to work as a team and be able to be organised with planning, your equipment and time scales. When learning, you can learn off other people if you work as a team. You have to also be organised in your learning e.g.. taking notes, keeping up to date with work and again knowing time frames.

You can find information about the sorts of skills and qualities that will be useful in terms of your learning and progression to employment or higher education on career advice pages such as http://www.jobs.ac.uk/. To find out more about skills you can go onhttp://creativeskillset.org/creative_industries/film/job_roles. To find out about UCAS on their official website: https://www.ucas.com/. To find out information on employment, there are lots of websites you can look at. To find a job you can look at job finding webstites like http://www.reed.co.uk or you can go to the local job centre. There are lots of people who can help with all these topics. For example, the advice officer at college.

 

 

Task 4 – Goals and Targets

Identify two long-term goals. One should be about your career and one should be about your skills or education. For each long term goal, describe at least two short-term SMART targets. (Remember: Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, Time-based!)

When you have discussed these goals and targets with your tutor, enter them on to ProMonitor. (9/4.1, 4.2, 4.3)

 

One of my long term goals about my skills and education is that I want to finish my two year film course with a good mark. This will help me and open doors for my future. I can do this by making sure that I keep focused on college work and keep on top of it, whilst at the same time making sure I am developing my skills in filmmaking. I think this is a realistic target because I think I have already come very far from when I started, therefor I think I can develop further.

Another one of my long term goals but for my career is taking up opportunities to help get into the film business. For example, competitions, work placements and finding contacts. I think this is achievable because I am already being entered into the Work Skills competition which will hopefully benefit my future by giving me experience and more confidence in the filmmaking industry.

 

Task 5 – Evaluation

At the end of the year you should evaluate all the goals and targets you set at college this year and recorded on ProMonitor. You should do this by answering all the following questions:

  • Why is self-assessment important in terms of your career and skills development? (In other words why are doing SWOTs and setting targets and reviewing your short term targets and longer term goals useful)?
  • Why is it particularly important to assess your personal strengths and your personalweaknesses? (For each, give two reasons and explain.)
  • Why is it also important to assess your personal skills and qualities? Give two reasons and explain.
  • What is a SMART target?
  • Describe the ways you used to track your targets and goals during the course of the year? Did you find this used useful – why/why not? What ways will you track your goals and targets when you leave College?
  • What goals targets did you achieve? Was it easy to achieve them?   Did you achieve them in full? Give two reasons why you think you managed to achieve them.
  • To what extent/how did your short term targets help you work towards your long term goals?
  • Were there any goals or targets you and/or your tutor set this year that you did not manage to fully achieve? Was this because they were unrealistic, did you run out of time or did something unexpected happen or was there another reason? Give two reasons why you did not achieve, or fully achieve all the targets you set (if appropriate).

(9/1.1, 1.2, 4.1, 4.2, 4.4, 4.5, 4.6, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3)

Self-assessment is important for your career and learning because it helps set you goals to achieve. This gives you motivation to get to your long term and short term goals. Its particularly important to evaluate your strengths and weaknesses because it helps you improve your weaknesses. Also, it helps you see your strengths and helps you to use them. Its important to assess your personal skills and qualities because it gives you a guideline to what you know you can and can’t do. This will help show what you can work on and what you can achieve.

A SMART target is a practical way of setting yourself a goal. It stands for Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic and Time-bound.

I tracked my targets and goals this year on Pro Portal. This helped me because I could look back on them and see where about I was to achieving my goals. When I leave college I can track my goals by writing them doing on a piece of paper and sticking it on my wall. I know this isn’t the most efficient way, but I’ll look at it everyday and know what I want to achieve and aim for it.

The goal  set myself for the 4th of January was to create a Youtube video outside of college, which I did achieve. I filmed a footage for Activ8, the Ju-Jitsu company I work for. My other goal was to create a short film outside of college for the 17th June. I don’t think I will achieve that goal as that date is 3 days after my FMP deadline. However, this year I did compete in WorldSkills, a film competition, where as a team we made a short film. I would count this as we had to do it outside of college time. I also filmed at the Kirby Lonsdale Bear Festival. Although it’s not edited yet, I still put a lot of work into it.

Setting these short term goals helped me achieve my long term goals as they all challenged me outside of college. It helped me learn to do things on my own and take my own initiative. This will help me in the future and help me reach my log term goal of being successful in the film industry.

My tutor set me the target of going into more depth with my blog posts. I think I have achieved that, as he agrees that my blog work has vastly improved. I analyse as much as I can now, and make sure I go into depth with my idea development and research.

 

Task 6 – Records

At the end of the year, print off all the goals and targets you have recorded on ProMonitor and WordPress. (9/4.5, 4.6)

 

 

Task 7 – How to apply for a job

There are numerous different ways to apply for a job (e.g. applying in person, sending Curriculum Vitae also known as a CV, filling in an on-line application and filling in a paper-based application).

  • Describe 4 different methods of applying for a job, give details about when and why each method might be appropriate. (5/1.1)

 

Methods to apply for a job:

  • Applying in person at the place of work. This would be appropriate when the place advitising the job has it in the window. This is because it would normally say apply within. You would have to make sure you were dressed correctly and looked the part. First impressions are everything!
  • Online Application. Online application would be appropriate is the advertisement was online on the employers website or on a job finding website.
  • Sending A CV. This way would be appropriate if you knew the company/employer was looking for someone to employ. However, you could also do it for places of work that constantly change staff but aren’t advertising. For example, restaurants and cafes.
  • Filling in paper-based application. This would be appropriate if the  employer had given the application to you personally.

 

Task 8 – Job adverts

Explain how to find two different film-related job advertisements. Copy them into this section of your blog. One might be advertised on the internet, one might be advertised in a newspaper or a relevant trade magazine. Write a few notes by each advert to explain where you found the job and how someone could apply for this job. (5/1.2)

To find different film-related jobs, you can look online or look at relevant trade magazines. Employers will use these to advertise because people search for jobs online a lot and only people who are interested in film will read the magazines, narrowing the audience down.

Finding jobs:

  1. Lighting and sound technician : http://www.productionbase.co.uk/film-tv-jobs/lighting-and-sound-technicians-leicester-04.16.0136234

I found this job by looking on the website Production Base. This website has a place where employers can put up advisements for certain jobs that they need doing within film  and TV. You can apply for this job logging in to the website and sending your details and relevant qualifications and work experience.

2. Cinema Marketing Assistant : http://dukes-lancaster.org/about-us/work-with-us/

I found this job when I went to the Dukes, my local cinema, and they were giving out flyers for a cinema marketing assistant job.To apply, you have to fill in an application found on the website and print it off. You give in the application and your CV to their reception.

 

 

 

Task 9 – CV pt.1

Mintcake Post

Look at the mock job advertisement in the link above, then create and upload:

  1. A list of documents you may be asked for or need when you apply for a job (e.g. driving licence or passport number, copies of GCSE/A level results, other qualifications/music /acting/ grades). State where your keep these documents.
  2. A draft CV that would be suitable for this job.
  3. A draft covering letter to go with your CV.

Check your drafts carefully and then show me or Dom both the draft letter and CV. Using our feedback, make any necessary amendments. Keep both drafts, save them as PDFs in Microsoft Word, and upload them to this blog post. (5/2.1, 2.2, 2.3)

1. Documents you might need during an interview:

  •  CV including: a list of qualifications; places you’ve already worked and all your details on.
  • A relevant cover letter
  • Form of ID (driving licence, passport)

2. Here is a copy of my Draft CV: CV

3. A copy of my draft covering letter: cover letter

 

Task 10 – CV pt.2

Evaluate and review your job application (CV and covering letter) after you have been given feedback. You will need to consider the following:

  • What were the strengths of my application? Was it suitable for its intended purpose?
  • What could have been better? What (if anything) do I need to add to my CV or change in the future?
  • Did I include all the relevant information to begin with?
  • What have I learned as a result of doing this task?
  • What will I do differently in the future to ensure I maximise my chances of being offered an interview/job? (5/2.4)

 

.

..and that’s all she wrote, folks. Nice one.

This entry was posted in Class Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

