Newsclip and Snail Documentry – Edit and Research

For the start of my film, I have planned to create a TV sequence. This is probably the hardest and most annoyingly hard thing to do in my film. The family are watching the TV and on the news it talks about the protests and riots that are happening in the UK. They change the channel and it switches to a documentary about snails that contains a deeper meaning.


Creating a news sequence

Creating the news sequence was probably the most difficult part of the process. I looked into different ways I could make it look realistic.

Filming My Own: Many films and TV shows already do this. They make a fake news station, with a fake presenter. This means they can get the presenter to read what they want. This is the best way to do, because then you can get what you want out of the news report.

However, this can also be very hard. Not only do you have to find a set and actor that mimic a real news station and reporter, you would have to make your own news clips. In my case, this consists of creating real looking fight scenes, riots and rebellion shots and adding them in. This would take up a lot of time and I would need a lot of people for it to look effective. Although it would look good if it was done right, I don’t think it’s the best way of doing it.

 

Cleaver editing: On the other hand, cleaver editing is the most likely  way of doing my news sequence. This means getting already existing news clips and then adding them together to look like a report that is relevant to me. I would have to look into news clips and see which ones I could use to make it look like it was in the UK. I could try and find clips of Syria where the voice over/presenter doesn’t say Syria.

I’m going to look more into this technique as I think it is less time consuming, and it would look very effective when I’ve finished.


 

Finding News Clips

G20 Protest Toronto Anarchists on the Loose

I found this news clips when I was looking up news clips about riots. I thought the clip of the police car was really effective. I am going to use that clip because you can obviously see that it is a police car and the damage it causes. I think it also reflects how bad the riots were at the time and that I think it would be very similar in the UK if there was a riot.

 

‘The Cost of Syria’s War’ – BBC News

In this news clip, they use a lot of film footage that is defiantly relevant to my project. I think the footage that is filmed on civilians phones or cameras is the footage that is most effective. This is because it is first hand footage, therefor it’s more realistic.

 

Finding a report voice

I wanted the report to sound like it was in the UK. Firstly I looked into news reports about Syria, seeing if there was any when it didn’t mention where it was. I found this extremely hard because most of the news reports did.

Then I decided to change what I was looking for. A few years ago there was a massive riot in London, then it spread to major cities. It got huge coverage on all English news channels as nothing like it had happened before in the UK. Although it wasn’t as ad as a lot of riots that happen all over the world daily, the news stations over dramatized the news to make it more interesting.

With this, I looked into the London Riots to see if I could find any news reports that might work.

London Riots Report from BBC News – 8th August 2011′ 

I found this report and I watched all of it to find a perfect moment to use. From 2:05 it talks about the roits and the damage it’s causing. I thought this voice over with clips of fighting in Syria would look like a real news report. The next stage was editing it all together and seeing what it looked like.

 

 

 


The Snail Documentary

 In this section of the TV sequence I am creating a snail documentary. I needed footage of snails and a monologue.

Monologue

Firstly I wrote the monologue. I wrote it longer then I needed just in case. The point of this sequence is to have a more hidden meaning without putting it straight on the screen. I want to show peoples opinions on immigrants without fully showing it. I only wanted my film to go up to the moment the two children make it out of the country, but still somehow wanted to show what people thought of them. The documentary is talking about snails, but actually the message also applies for immigrants. In my research I found out that people saw them as an unneeded problem and that they weren’t wanted anywhere but there own country. This is how I thought of using the term pests. Also, I had wanted to write how they travelled around with no where to go. Most of them carry all of there belongings with them. This is how I came up with the ideas of snails. Snails carry there shell, which can be interpreted as there ‘home’, mainly by children.

This section was really important to me because I wanted to reflect people’s opinions before getting into the film properly.

With all these ideas in mind, I wrote a monologue for Kit Taylor to read for me. I was then going to add it over the top of footage of snails.

 

Snail Footage

I had the choice of filming snails myself, but decided against it. Again, I thought it was too time consuming and I would have to be there a long time trying to find snails. Camera men and women who film wildlife, especially small creatures like snails, are specially trained and have years of practice. If I did manage to film snails for my film, it would look bad and I think it would distract from the actual message of the sequence.

I decided to look at some film clips of snails and use that instead.

‘The Sex Life of a Snail’ – Wildlife documentary

I found this clip and I thought it would be an effective one to use. I think that it is simple and it looks professional. I am going to use this clip then mute it, then add the monologue kit recorded over the top.

 


 

The Edit

 the edit was pretty simple. The hard part was creating graphics to make it look like the channels were changing. To do this part, on premier-pro, I created the box shapes then added in the lettering.

I think it looks really good and effective. I’m going to burn it onto a CD and play it on a TV.

This entry was posted in Y1 Film 10 - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Newsclip and Snail Documentry – Edit and Research

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    Once again, Izzy, this is absolutely fantastic work. You’ve put in some hard miles finding and securing the news footage, and you’ve made a good job of the cut; and the channel changing works really well. It’s worth noting that in professional films, they usually shoot ‘news’ as part of the wider production, even if they alter the image to make it authentic, like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8A254PJjWc

    Great work. I’m also impressed with the metaphor of the snail.

    Like

Leave a Reply

