Assembly Edit

Rushes

The first thing I did when I got to college was upload and log the rushes for my film. It is important to log rushes as it makes them easier to find when editing. I labelled them as Scene, then Take, then shot if there’s more then one. Here’s scene 13 as an example.

Screen Shot 2016-06-02 at 11.27.51 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-02 at 11.28.14 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-02 at 11.28.20 AM


Assembly edit

An assembly edit is an extreme rough cut of the film, which then is edited down. Its a way of the editor seeing all the shots and knowing which ones are best to use for the final film. I added a few sound effects I already had access to, but apart from that I haven’t added any effects, sound or colour corrected it.

There is A LOT of changes I want to make. Putting all the rushes together in the right order shows you what your end film could look like and the changes you want to make. You can also see how it flows tougher, or if it doesn’t flow together.

Firstly, I think all the scenes should be colour corrected. Colour correcting the film would make the film flow better as the colours would match more. It also creates a sense of consistency within the film to the audience.

I also think I need to fix a lot of the sound effects. Some don’t match the scene, or have very noisy backgrounds.

Furthermore, I want to add credits to my film. However, if I need a big chunk cutting off my film, I will cut the credits.

Finally, I have decided to cut 2 of the scenes. The scene with the tap, as I won’t have time or the chance to film it. And the scene with the children stepping over the feet. This scene just doesn’t match the sequence at all, as a lot of people were missing from the van to film it.

This entry was posted in Y1 Film 10 - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Assembly Edit

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    Excellent, concise consideration of the process. It takes time and effort to accurately log rushes, and to do so in this particular fashion also shows that you planned your scenes and shots rigorously. Well done. (It can make finding the right particular shot tricky at times, as you need to refer back to paperwork rather than the shot description, but it’s a common way of logging in the industry.) Great organisation.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Evaluation | Izzy Pye

Leave a Reply

