Pitch and Feedback – FMP

For this project, we have to pitch our idea to Rebecca Day. We looked at what makes a good presentation in class and how we can get our idea across.

To start with, I wanted to to make a mind map with all the details that were important for the pitch. This helps me because it means I can plan what I’m going to say because I don’t have a very good memory for memorising words.

18175532_1319419024811233_749930735_o

For my presentation, I decided to only use pictures so I don’t keep looking back on the board. I think this works better to me because I don’t want to rely on the board to give a positive pitch.

This is my final pitch presentation: FMP pitch

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.51.49

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.51.55

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.52.03

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.52.10

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.52.16

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 10.52.22


 Feedback

Today I did the pitch, but I don’t think it went as well as it could. One of the reasons why it went wrong for me was that I missed out loads of information that I needed to say. When I practiced, I kept hitting the four minuet mark, but in the actual pitch it was very short. I also kept stuttering over words because when I get nervous my stutter comes back a bit, and it takes away from my confidence. Also, I know that I have a bad memory, so I should’ve practiced more and made sure that I knew exactly what to say instead of using bullet point cards. I am disappointed in myself because I wanted to do better then I did, but then again I am proud that I stood up in front of them and actually did it as it was a valuable lesson.

The feedback I got from Rebecca and Dom

Feedback on presentation:

The first point of feedback was my glasses. I was wearing my light sensitivity glasses because my eyes were having a bad day. However, because they were pink, they are distracting to the people I was talking too. Next time I need to not wear them and just explain why my eyes are watery. Or wear them and tell them why I’m wearing them.

Secondly, I needed to slow down. I went to fast and the pitch was too short. This meant my story didn’t come across and I needed to explain it again. I think this was because I was nervous and missed out a lot of points. Next time I need to be more confident and relaxed, and not as distracted. Rebecca Day said that its better to go over the time then under the time.

Next, don’t use schedules in a pitch. Although its’s good to to show an end date and some points, the schedule don’t look good on the powerpoint as it’s small and distracting. That time can be filled in better ways.

This feedback is very useful, even though it doesn’t help with this project, it will help in future projects. It gave me the opportunity to practice giving a proposal for a film, without it being serious. I now know how to approach future pitches and how to make them more successful.

Feedback on film plan:

Also, I need to work on the description of my film. I didn’t know how to explain the genre or audience of the film so it came across as messy and unclear. Once they asked questions they really liked the idea. This feedback was useful, because before I wasn’t sure on how to change it, but I have a clearer idea. I need to reword it for my project proposal and treatment to help get my point across clearer. It also helps me for the release of my film, so I can get the description right for the audience I appeal for.

They said I was confident and well spoken in my idea, which shows that I know a lot about it.

This entry was posted in Y2 - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pitch and Feedback – FMP

  1. Pingback: Final FMP Evaluation | Izzy Pye

Leave a Reply

