Presentation and Release – FMP

 24th May 2017

First Box Screening Meeting

Today we had our first meeting planning the box screening. Its important to organise the screening now because it means we have time to get everything ready and prepared.

We talked about what supplies we will need, who to invite at the job roles.

18676803_10213588529533924_770667035_o

My job role

My job role for the screening is to make the program for the evening. What we all didn’t like about last years screening was that the 1st years didn’t get a chance to tell the audience which film they did, and a description of the film. There isn’t time for them to all introduce the films, so we decided we could do a program, with pictures of the film and who made them. This means everyone gets the opportunity to show which film is who’s.


10th June 2017

Audience

I wanted to look over my audience again so I can see the best ways of releasing my film. It will also help me see how to promote it and write about it.

Within my presentation feedback, it was said that my audience wasn’t defined enough. Instead I should say a younger audience, with a quirky, indie film, taste. I think this is defiantly what I was going for. If we looking into this exact audience, I can see the best ways to release it.

Social media if probably my strongest platform. Most young people use social media, and its easy to share posts. If I look on my Facebook page stats, I can see that most of the interest in my page is 18-24, which is my target audience. Therefor, I should defiantly post my film on Facebook, trying to get shares and likes, boosting who will see it.

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 11.16.44.png

As my target audience is people that also enjoy indie, quirky films I want to upload it onto Vimeo. This is because Vimeo is a great platform for independent filmmaking and also young filmmakers. Using the tags and themes on Vimeo will help me reach a larger audience.

Furthermore, I should also look at independent film festivals that I can enter my film into. Even if it’s just shown, more people will see it and I can connect to them. This will help me get my name out there and also independent film festivals attract audiences similar to my audience.


13th June 2017

Looking for Festivals

For this project, I want to release my film not only on my professional accounts but into film festival. This will help more people see my film and learn to know me as a professional filmmaker.


13th June 2017

Promotion – Poster

To help promote my film for release, I decided to make a poster for my film to put on social media. To make the poster I took my favourite shot from the film and added detail to it like the title and my name. I wanted to add the fact my nephew was in it too, by saying he was starring in it. This is my final poster:

Poster.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 11.41.19.png

I posted it on my professional Facebook, writing the tile and who it is starring. I also mentioned that I’m an award winning filmmaker, not out of vanity, but it will make it more anticipated.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Promotional Trailer

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 11.42.23.png

I decided to make a promotional trailer and post it on Facebook to help gain anticipation for my film, and get more followers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 11.24.12.png

This worked really well for me as I reached a lot of audiences, mainly 18-24 year olds who are my target audience for my film.

 

 

 


Making the Program

My job was making the program for the box screening, which was more difficult then I thought. I wanted it to look professional and fit all of our films on, with who made them.

Final Booklet

Everyone was really impressed with the program, after the 6 drafts! I think it looked very professional and neat, and it made the whole evening look more professional and it helped the first years show who made each film.


The box screening

Today was our final box screening, so we all came into college to start setting up. I had finished my program, so I helped set up the box. We got out the seat set up, and put out 140 chairs, which was how many guests we were getting.

When we got to the screening, I helped seat people and welcome people, as I didn’t have a given job for the actual night.

My speech:

At the screening I have to present my film and say a bit about it.

Hello, I’m Izzy and for this project I made a film looking at production design and character design because I love the way that you can put in colour, costume and sets to make a film more in depth.

I want to say a big thank you to my amazing tutors, who taught me everything I know. A big thank you to my amazing class who have been supportive over the last 2 years. And well done to the first years who have really got some amazing talent, and I can’t wait to see what you do next.

I think the box screening went really well, as I got some really strong reactions of the audiences, including some laughs. The night ran very smoothly, so we put on a very good evening. The next step is to release my film on the internet.


Releasing my film

Today, I decided to release my film to the public. I did this by posting it on YouTube and sharing it on social media.

Description and tags for youtube

This is the description I used for the release of my film. I summed up what it was about, using key words that would help people find it. I also added my links, so if people were interested they could find me.

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 09.54.18.png

I also used tags on youtube so if people searched certain words, it would come up. This is really good for me as it helps a wider audience find my film.

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 09.57.00.png

I released my film on Facebook, as I found during research that this was my best social media platform. This defiantly was a good decision because a lot of people saw my film, or saw the link to it. I encorouged people to like, share and comment, as then more people would see it, so I think this was one of the ways it got more views and likes.

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 09.57.59.png

I can carry on promoting my film by releasing it into festival, and talking about it on the Beyond radio show where I go on and talk about films every now and again.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Y2 - FMP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Presentation and Release – FMP

  1. Pingback: Final FMP Evaluation | Izzy Pye

Leave a Reply

